5th Sunday in Ordinary Time (Year B)

Welcome Back to Banquet of the Word!

We’re back in Ordinary Time, week #2 (there are 34 in all
).

Our mission is simple:
We want to help everyone in “pew-land” get more out of mass.

Because it’s fun to feel smart about scripture

Fun Fact:
Job is actually not a prophetic book, but 1 of the 7 books called “Wisdom Literature.”

The key questions of the book of Job are
1) Where can Wisdom be found? (Can it be found in suffering?) and
2) Can God be loved for His own sake?

1st Reading: Jb 7:1-4, 6-7
The first reading is Old Testament. It always links to the Gospel.

The Book of Job, named after its protagonist, is an exquisite dramatic treatment of the problem of the suffering of the innocent. The contents of the book, together with its artistic structure and elegant style, place it among the literary masterpieces of all time. This is a literary composition, and not a transcript of historical events and conversations.

The question of the book is at the start. “Can God be loved for His own sake?”

The beginning provides the setting for Job’s testing. When challenged by the satan’s questioning of Job’s sincerity, the Lord allows a series of catastrophes to afflict Job. Three friends come to console him. Job breaks out in complaint, and a cycle of speeches begins.

We are at the heart of Job’s misery today:

Job spoke, saying:
Is not man’s life on earth a drudgery?
    Are not his days those of hirelings?
He is a slave who longs for the shade,
    a hireling who waits for his wages.
So I have been assigned months of misery,
    and troubled nights have been allotted to me.

If in bed I say, “When shall I arise?”
    then the night drags on;
    I am filled with restlessness until the dawn.
My days are swifter than a weaver’s shuttle;
    they come to an end without hope.
Remember that my life is like the wind;
    I shall not see happiness again.

Surely we feel this kind of despair in life from time to time. The question is, do we place God at the center and love him no matter what? Trust Him no matter what?

Psalm 147: Praise the Lord who heals the brokenhearted
(The Psalm is a “response” to what we heard in the 1st Reading)

No matter

Praise the LORD, for he is good;
    sing praise to our God, for he is gracious;
    it is fitting to praise him.
The LORD rebuilds Jerusalem;
    the dispersed of Israel he gathers.
R. Praise the Lord, who heals the brokenhearted.

He heals the brokenhearted
    and binds up their wounds.
He tells the number of the stars;
    he calls each by name.

2nd Reading: 1 Cor: 9:16-19, 22-23
(The 2nd reading is usually from Paul’s letters. Speaks to how the early church was built after Christ’s death and resurrection).

Today we hear of Paul’s conviction to preach the gospel at all costs, because God called Him to do so.

His letter is an answer to those in Corinth who write PAUL a letter with questions. There was division in Corinth at the time. The church there was unsure of certain practices as Christians, who were once Jews.

He tells them to avoid being, looking and feeling “weak.” He encourages them – and us – to remain strong in the gospel of Christ. To be proud to share the good news!

Brothers and sisters:
If I preach the gospel, this is no reason for me to boast,
for an obligation has been imposed on me,
and woe to me if I do not preach it!
If I do so willingly, I have a recompense,
but if unwillingly, then I have been entrusted with a stewardship.
What then is my recompense?
That, when I preach,
I offer the gospel free of charge
so as not to make full use of my right in the gospel.

Although I am free in regard to all,
I have made myself a slave to all
so as to win over as many as possible.
To the weak I became weak, to win over the weak.
I have become all things to all, to save at least some.
All this I do for the sake of the gospel,
so that I too may have a share in it.

Gospel: MK: 1:29-39
This is the highest point in the Liturgy of the Word, it’s why we stand. We are about to hear from and be instructed by Christ himself.

Did you know that Mark is sometimes called “The Hollywood Gospel?” His gospel is the shortest, and he moves fast – like an action film. The word “immediately” can be found in his gospel 41 times!

As I read the gospel I could almost hear the dramatic music as a backdrop – the kind of music you may recall from The Passion of The Christ in the last scene. Powerful things are happening every place Christ visits.

Today we see some snippets – he goes in to heal Simon’s mother in law who lay ill with fever. In the evening, they brought him to “all” who were ill or possessed by demons. To “all”! And he healed them with His Word or His divine touch.

That is a statement. We must never doubt that He can do the same for us today!

This last part tells us he retreats away from the world to pray. Even Jesus left the socializing of the city, the whispers of his healing genius, to speak to God the Father. How can we better model this behavior? In the busyness of life, I can say it is quite the challenge to prioritize prayer unless I build it into my day from the start.

What in our life needs deeper contemplation or thought? A major life decision, prayer for a suffering family member, someone we need to forgive, perhaps ourselves or our attitude toward another?

May God bless your week!

On leaving the synagogue
Jesus entered the house of Simon and Andrew with James and John.
Simon’s mother-in-law lay sick with a fever.
They immediately told him about her.
He approached, grasped her hand, and helped her up.
Then the fever left her and she waited on them.

When it was evening, after sunset,
they brought to him all who were ill or possessed by demons.
The whole town was gathered at the door.
He cured many who were sick with various diseases,
and he drove out many demons,
not permitting them to speak because they knew him.

Rising very early before dawn, he left 
and went off to a deserted place, where he prayed.
Simon and those who were with him pursued him
and on finding him said, “Everyone is looking for you.”
He told them, “Let us go on to the nearby villages
that I may preach there also.
For this purpose have I come.”
So he went into their synagogues,
preaching and driving out demons throughout the whole of Galilee.

Author: Cindy Skalicky

Background: While enrolled in coursework at the Denver Catholic Biblical School (CBS), I developed a passion for scripture. Prior to CBS, I knew so little about the bible. I was in a complete "fog", unable to see what I heard at mass or make any connections (even though I have been a lector for 20 years). The climax of every Mass is the banquet of the Eucharist. But before that, we attend the banquet of the Word - a "4-course meal" that includes the 1st Reading, Responsorial Psalm, 2nd Reading, and Gospel. At this "Banquet of the Word", we encounter Christ through His Word before we meet Him at the Eucharistic table. Increasing my knowledge of scripture has brought me out of the fog and into the light. I invite you to visit weekly. If you have limited scriptural knowledge, Be Not Afraid. Scripture is God's voice; in It, He speaks to you personally. Believe me, I know from experience how intimidating the Bible can be - in its length, the numerous styles in which it's written, and the messages therein. This is why I find it works well to explore scripture through the Sunday readings, which cover Old Testament, Wisdom Literature, the Pastoral Letters, and the Gospels. Join me on this journey, one week at a time.

Leave a comment